Okay, so spoiler alert, this is going to be a bit of a rant. Hoping for all our sakes, it will be brief….?

WTF!?!? When did being transgender become a competition? What’s with all the “I’m more trans than you” bullsh!t !?!? I mean really….REALLY. Come on. Don’t we have enough to worry about in our lives without beating up others in our community? For gawd sakes, everybody….get over yourselves !!

And I’m not talking about Facebook selfies that are done to either document your transition for all to see, or fishing for compliments on how you look in your new whatever. That’s just the way it is, and Facebook provides a great platform for people to indulge in that. Fill your boots. Doesn’t bother me. I only hope that everyone can, at some point though, be confident enough in who they are that they don’t need external validation. Disclaimer, I am probably just as guilty as many of posting selfies, usually with my daughters as I am a proud parent, so that goes with the territory.

What I am so fed up with is the attitude that some are spewing about out there that they are somehow more trans than others. Comments and body language that convey such sentiments as:

I look more like a woman (or man) than you

I never get mis-gendered, like  you

I pass everywhere I go, not like you

I have had FFS, you haven’t

I have had SRS/GCS/top surgery etc, you haven’t

Enough! If I see one more set of rolling eyes, or shaking head at me, I swear to gawd, I’ll be spending the weekends in jail cuz, I’m going to harm them!! Okay, so not really, but holy crap…super frustrating!

Everyone’s journey and circumstances are different. What works for you, may not work for me or others. What you feel you need to do as part of your transition may not be what I need. What triggers your dyphoria may not be what triggers mine. What surgeries I am comfortable with my not be the same for others.

Can’t we just all try to get along and play in this big sandbox nicely? And no, we don’t all have to like each other, and come together to hold hands and sing Kum-bi-ya! But we do need to treat everyone with dignity and respect. If you are having a crappy day, and people are putting you down, that really sucks. And I’m sorry for that. Maybe we can try to make ourselves feel better by making someone else feel better?? Life’s too short, and this is tough enough as it is.

Thus endeth the rant.

Leave a Reply

