Earlier this week, I had the opportunity and pleasure to co-host a radio talk show on a local station. They were going to discuss Bill C16, which is in the final reading of our Federal Senate. The bill seeks to add gender identity and gender representation to the list of protections under the Human Rights Act. So, I was asked to be a guest co-host to provide comment on both the bill and the process.

It was so much fun! The co-host did a great job of making me feel welcome, though I was still really nervous. I was speaking way too fast in the beginning, but after the first commercial break, I was able to calm down a bit and relax. It was a really good discussion. The time flew by.

But I also learned a few things about what is going on in other parts of the country that reflect some of the sentiment of the public. As this is a Federal bill, input has been received from numerous people and organizations across the country both against and in support. Many spoke from experience and others, simply voicing their opinion. So our discussion was focused around some of that, and trying to understand, and explain to the general audience what was being said as many don’t understand the nuances of definitions and terminology. And I must admit, there were a few times when I “energetically” disagreed with some of the comments we were discussing.

It occurred to me that it is no wonder the non trans community is a bit confused by all of this. Okay, a lot confused. Because there are times when even we as a community are confused. But I did try to take the high road and rescue myself. In the end, it was a great experience and I learned a bit more about myself and about my community and the issues in general. They did say they would like to have me back another time, so I guess I didn’t screw up that much.

I guess I have the perfect face for radio!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

