Not to be confused with “serving time” !! Last evening I was elected to the Board of Directors for the PRIDE organization in my city. While I know this is a cause that I can really get my teeth into, so to speak, I can’t help but think this is sort of a good news – bad news type of thing. What makes me think that? Good question.

Sad to say that I have in no way been affiliated with this organization in anyway in the past. That’s my bad, totally. They had never heard of me. What little activism I have been doing is either on my own as requested, or on behalf of my Trans support group. So how did I end up on the board of PRIDE? It’s like this…

I was approached some weeks ago by a member of the nominations committee, who is also a friend of mine, to see if I would be interested in serving. I had no idea she was on the board actually. (That in and of itself is sad.) As I will be coming off of a board that I have been extremely invested in for the past eight years, I have been quietly on the search for another to serve, but this time, more related to my community. So, my interest was peaked. I agreed to go through the vetting process. CV, statement of interest, etc were submitted. I was asked to attend a meeting with the current board and other potential nominees to receive a briefing on the “lay of the land” so to speak so that we were going into this “eyes wide open”.

That was…interesting…revealing, and a little bit scary. I was asked to speak to my strengths, and what concerns I had, if any. It was actually a very informative exercise. I left wondering if this was really a good fit for me. So much to be done, but would I be one of the people to contribute effectively to get it done? So I stewed about it for a bit, as only I can do. But at the end of the day, I decided to let my name stand. That, however, was no guarantee. There is still the vote that had to take place at the Annual General Meeting. That was last evening.

There were some very interesting and probing questions for me by the membership. I did not pull any punches, I just spoke about what I thought the challenges are moving forward and how I typically approach such things. I decided that I wasn’t going to pull any punches or tell them what I thought they wanted to hear. After all, this is a volunteer position. I don’t need to be doing this. So in a way, it was more for me to vet them than vice versa. In the end, when asked one more time prior to the vote, I felt comfortable enough to let my name stand. And the rest, as they say, is history.

What’s next? There is a meeting of the board later this week, to appoint the executive as indicated by the bylaws. Once that is done, sighing authorities are updated, as is the list of board and executive to the province as required by the Not For Profit Corporations Act. Committees also have to be filled. So it’s going to be a busy meeting as we work our way down the checklist.

Fortunately, the committee that is responsible for the annual PRIDE day event to be held in June, appear to have everything under control, so that is a huge help. My goal is not to get in their way, but let them do their thing. That I am really good at doing!! Ha ha. Until I know my exact role, I’m not going to fuss about stuff. And the good news is that I actually do know a few people on the board already which helps, but I am clearly the new kid on the block.

That being said, I have already been told that I am going to be receiving an invitation to an evening reception aboard one of her Majesty’s naval ships that will be in port here in a few weeks as it is being re-positioned. All local dignitaries will be there including the mayor and commander of our military base as well as federal and provincial members of parliament etc. I’m going to be there to represent PRIDE. No pressure! Actually it really isn’t, as I know most of these people already anyway. So, it would appear they don’t waste time.

So there it is. Will be interesting to see how that all works out. But I am optimistic and quite looking forward to it I must say. Ask me the same questions in six months…I hope I have the same answer. In the meantime, it’s time to completely chill out. My boat goes in the water this week, my girls are probably coming home for the long weekend, so the plan is to spend time aboard to get her all ready for the season. Not sure if it will be ready to stay on board overnight, but I am hopeful!

I am always hopeful…

Leave a Reply

