Okay, so I’m a bit behind the times. I just saw this story. It recounts (including video), how Zeke Smith, a participant in this season’s Survivor, got outed on the show! I’m so angry, I can’t…I don’t know where to start. As a result this may be the shortest post I have ever done, as I am still processing it, so lucky you!

During a “tribal council” participant Jeff Varner turned to Zeke Smith and asked why he hadn’t told everyone he was transgendered. OMG are you kidding?!?! Are you f*uckin’ kidding me!? What the hell. And it appears it was done with total malice and self interest on Varner’s part. To what end. Really?!?!?

No one, no one, has the right to out anyone about anything like this! Varner claimed he thought people knew. But they didn’t. And even if they did, it is not his story to tell, not his right to tell anyone anything without permission, not his life. Poor Zeke. Totally blindsided and deer in the headlights reaction. And I get it. I don’t know what I would have done in that situation. On the plus side, Zeke did get support from other participants, and handled it better than most would I’m guessing. With grace and as much dignity he had left after such a proclamation,

“I don’t want to be known as Zeke the transgendered survivor contestant, I just want to be known as Zeke the survivor contestant”. Exactly! Good for him!

So if you don’t have anything good to say about someone, shut up. I take it one step further. Are you stating something to someone to make you feel better or make them feel better? If it is only for your benefit, ya might wanna think twice about it.

Can’t believe this happened. So sad, and so infuriating. But maybe, just maybe, some good might come out of this.

One can only hope…

Leave a Reply

