Two recent conversations have got me thinking about, well, thinking. I know, I see the irony. Anyway, one such conversation was with my therapist the other day which I rambled on about the other day in a blog. The second was an email I received last night from someone I consider to be a very good friend. It made me think about what I do, and don’t, know. I don’t know all the answers. I don’t even know all the questions.

I am one of these people that get stuck inside my own head. I ruminate. I Ponder. I play with thoughts and ideas. Most of which are documented here as what I am sure appears to be random musings. But, and you know there was going to be a but….It’s okay to not think about things. Sometimes, things just are. Nuff said, so to speak. This is what I am now telling myself. What I am slowly beginning to realize is that it’s okay to not have all the answers. It’s even okay to say that I don’t have all the answers. Wait….do you fell that….did the earth just shake, or is it just me. I am beginning to get comfortable with letting go. And for those of you that know me, wipe that smirk of your face right now 😉

And that is not easy to do. Not for me. I wish it was. For the those of you out there that do this quite naturally, you are probably wondering what the hell the big deal is. It is, for me, for whatever reason, it is. Probably a result of just my general personality, as well as being trained in law where we don’t ask a question unless we know the answer (i.e. you find out first) and you never respond to a question with “I don’t know” or incorrect info, you find the answer, then speak.

While striving for perfection may be a laudable goal, it is one that can never be achieved . So why beat myself up over it. No one is perfect. I know for a fact that I am no where near perfect. And I don’t have all the answers. And you know what? That’s okay. Well, I am not 100% there yet but at least I am getting there.

I am learning to stop. To stop thinking so much. It’s okay to not have all the answers.

Leave a Reply

