To say that I have an interesting perspective on life is somewhat of an understatement. I have gone from being a part of a powerful majority, bestowed with privilege, to a minority, as part of a community that is often shunned by society. I have tried to articulate how this feels to my friends and family, and fail miserably each time. So I suspect this will be a recurring theme on my blog.

I was a member of the white fraternity for the majority of my life. Albeit a deceitful member, as I truly was not a man. But like an undercover spy, I was admitted to the “club” to live and witness the privilege first hand. To know what that is like is very interesting to say the least.

Flip the coin over, and it’s a different story. Same life, very different perspective. The view from here is wondrous to say the least. But oh my, it is different. For me, it is amazing, spectacular and filled with contentment. But it is different. There are many things I have to get used to. Everything from not being seen as a threat to men, to being seen as competition to some women, to being able to have deep conversations and relationships with women. That’s something that men do to, but oh my, it is soooo different.

I understand the behaviour, activities and comments of men. Something that many women don’t get. I do. So many things are different. This doesn’t make any of it right, or wrong. It’s just different. All of which I was never comfortable with while I sat around that table. But I do get it. The classic example is something as simple as having a cold. (see previous post regarding this). So sometimes I find myself acting as an “interpreter” for my girlfriends. I can translate the behaviours and language for them. It is a unique skill set. But honestly, it is one I wish I didn’t have. But alas I do. It doesn’t bother me. It is what is it.

Personally, I have found my home. I know longer struggle to fit into a world where I really never belonged. Now, I can just be me, and I fit in quite nicely, thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

