Well, the dreaded office cold found me yesterday, so I am doing this while I’m vertical as I suspect I won’t be coherent for much longer. I have two meetings, then I think I’m going to head home, to bed. Ugh.

Anyway, I just wanted to get this thought down before it flew out of my fury little brain. I was listening to the radio on the way into work yesterday and they were interviewing a 12 year old girl with MS, who was speaking about her experience and how she is championing awareness in her school and others of her age group.

What a brave young woman she is to battle this horrific disease and still be able to take on this challenge. Anyway, one thing she said really stuck with me. She said she wanted others who have MS to know that they should not be ashamed of their situation, feel guilt, or be down on themselves. It is okay to not be okay. Wow.

How many of us in my community really need to listen to those words?? I would hazard a guess that it would be just about all of us at some point in our journey. How many of us feel the quilt that is often attached with transitioning? How many of us beat ourselves up about it? On the road to self acceptance, there are many, many speed bumps, detours and flat out road closures. We need to be kinder to ourselves. Realize that there is nothing wrong with not being okay. Accept help. Give yourself the gift of time. Focus on what’s good. Don’t add more pressure by thinking “what is wrong with me? Why do I feel this way?” It is what it is. Many of us do get through it. Remove as much pressure from yourself as you can. Love yourself. You’re worth it.

It’s okay to not be okay.

Leave a Reply

