I just came out of a meeting with our Human Rights Office and my boss. Normally, those words strung together in the same sentence is not necessarily a good thing. However, in this case, it is. At least, I think it is???

I have been asked to report on and create a document regarding our strategies within our unit to increase our activities in all things regarding diversity. This means doing an “inventory” of what we already do, identifying what we do well and what…ah….let’s say, needs work? Then formulating a strategy to address all that and implement and monitor activities to address the weaknesses. This includes, but is not limited to, hiring, retention, promotion, development, and retention of all staff, as well as all our communication, marketing, social media content, instructional content, and some other things.

Overall, this will involve working with the senior leadership team and will impact, or provide benefit (hopefully) to, our 2,300 stakeholders affected by my unit. Which is really awesome !

But it is a big responsibility, that is going to be just a little bit of work (this is where I need an emoji of dripping sarcasm!) I think this is a classic case of good news, bad news. The good news is that I am responsible for this for my unit. The bad news is, I am responsible for this for my unit. It’s a big project, with a deliverable date of end of July.

I slowly see my summer holidays slipping away…….

Leave a Reply

