Okay, so, a little warning.This is a bit of a rant about the situation in the U.S.A. vis-a-vis the first family. It’s not often that I get into this, and never via social media, or any other media for that matter. So, if you’ve had more than your fill of the Trumps, as I suspect many have, time to move to another way to occupy your time.

I admit, this really doesn’t directly impact me economically etc as I live it what we affectionally call the “Great White North”. But I have many friends who live south of our border, so that means it matters to me. And it impacts my community, not just in the U.S. but world wide, so it’s hard to remain silent. So here goes…

I watched the inaugural speech, against my better judgement, but it was like a train wreck that you can see coming….it’s hard to look away! For the most part it was the same old rhetoric and to me, his voice took on the sound of Charlie Brown’s teacher in the animated TV specials. You know, the wah wah, wah, wah, etc. But there was a point that made my ears perk up. Followed by the hair standing up on the back of my neck and my blood pressure to rise. He said something to the effect that he would be working for and/or representing all people, or words to that effect. I can’t recall his exact words, because I was searching for something to throw at the screen. I was (and still am) that angry. Are you kidding me?? Seriously ?

And the sad part, the really scary part, is that he actually said it with a straight face. I mean, I think he honestly believes that. And that is so disturbing. Because nothing could be further from the truth. He is not representing immigrants, latinos, minorities, muslims, and especially….especially women!  He’s is just completely out of touch with reality, sanity, and just about everything else that delineates humankind from primates.

So, where does one turn to for guidance, leadership and some remote possibility that there is the slightest ray of hope? Well, maybe to the person that is situated to be one of the most influential women in the U.S. and this new administration. No, not Kellyanne Conway. Don’t me started on that!!!! I’m thinking of the new “First Lady”, Mrs Melania Trump. Yes, scary as it is, she is the First Lady. Typically a role that has some substance, that demonstrates leadership with respect to many social issues.

Where is she? Well, it turns out that she is not going to take up the usual office and staff in the Whitehouse. What is she going to do? Stay in New York during the weekend and go to the Whitehouse on the weekend. If convenient. She remains silent on all of this. Like a good little dutiful immigrant wife who has no thoughts of her own. Where is she to provide leadership, or at least show a modicum of compassion???

She at least could stick up for her gender?? But she has completely abandoned her gender. She has left us to twist in the wind…been sent to her room in New York, with a pat on the head and a huge spending budget for fashion, never to be seen, or heard. She appears to be just another little bauble for Trump.

Really??? And this is supposed to unify the nation? Unify who? How do you ignore the plea of women in US who demonstrated so vehemently. How do you ignore women around the world who demonstrated against the words, actions and polices of Mr Trump? Even in my little city in Canada, there were a 1,000 people, mostly women but some men and families I am proud to say, that gathered by our city hall to voice their outrage.

It’s going to be four long years. I am so afraid for women in the U.S. I wish I could help somehow. The whole thing actually makes me throw up a bit in my mouth. But I think it is time to fight. To send a clear message that we, as a gender, as a community, will not stop. We are not going to go away. We will be heard. We will always stand up for who we are, and our rights. Someone has to. The First Lady isn’t. So if not us, who?

So there you have it. My one political rant against the now official Trump administration. I sign off with a virtual hug for all my sisters and all others oppressed under this administration.

2 thoughts on “Abandoning your Gender…???

  1. It’s pretty heartbreaking, to be sure. As a transgendered Woman and a US citizen, I’d be lying if I said I’m not scared. It’s going to be a very long four years. If Mike Pence gets his way, I won’t even be able to leave the Country as he’s made it clear he’s against my having a Passport to travel unfettered. The Chinese curse states, “May you live in interesting times”. Well….it’s getting just a little too interesting for me. Canadians can count themselves lucky for still living in a free Country. God have mercy on us all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Lisa. Thanks for the comment! Yes, you have my total sympathy. People keep saying it would be great to impeach Trump….but with Pence in the background waiting, is it really an option. He is such a slim. Be strong and take care of you!!!

    Like

Leave a comment