As we are all well aware, transitioning is no mean feat. It takes a special person to commit to this trans life, and to become who they were meant to be…who they have really been since they were born. It amazes me that this is the case though. Why should it require special strength, courage and commitment to simply be you??!! The vast majority of the population do this everyday…without any thought. They just are. Which is all a trans person is trying to be. Themselves.

To that end, I personally have found it extremely beneficial to surround myself with positive people. Negativity sucks the life out of me, so I have chosen to discard it. Fortunately, I don’t have any negative people in my life, at least not regarding my transition anyway. Okay, let me correct that. I don’t have any negative people around me regarding my transition that I know of! What people say about me in the privacy of their own home, I don’t know about, can’t control it, or care about. I don’t have the time or energy. That being said, I can’t stand people who are two faced, supportive to your face, back stabbing when you leave. That won’t fly with me. That, I will react to. If I discover that someone is maligning me etc behind my back to others in my work environment or with friends or in my neighbourhood etc, I will deal with it. But they are entitled to their beliefs and opinions, just as I am. And I am okay with that, provided they do no harm.

What other people think of me is really none of my business.

In the privacy of their own head, that is their business. I don’t demand or expect people to approve of, or condone, my decision. I do expect to be treated with dignity and respect at all times. If not, we are going to have a problem. But I have been fortunate, and have not had to deal with any public displays of inappropriate treatment or attitudes.

As I treat everyone with whom I interact, with dignity and respect, I expect nothing less from them and will not accept anything less. We all give permission to others in regard to how we let them treat us. I don’t let people get away with it. You shouldn’t either. This is just basic human interaction. Don’t give them that power. It yours to keep. Keep it. This is one time in  your life when it is okay to make it all about you.

 

Leave a Reply

