Short answer???…..EVERYTHING!

Okay, so everyone has different things that are triggers for their GD (gender dysphoria). For me, name is one of them. There are a lot of moving parts, so to speak, in dealing with that issue. There are of course the biggies…..drivers licence, health card, employee records, banking accounts & credit cards etc. Those were all done a while ago. Then there are the secondary ones, such as professional affiliations, membership cards, yadda, yadda, yadda. For the most part, those are done. My registration and DSD instructor for scuba diving are done, liability insurance, health insurance, Costco (yes, Costco…) boat operators certificate all done. There are many more including hotel cards, grocery club cards, airlines, etc, etc. I continue to nibble away at those.

Yesterday I got caught off guard. I received invoices from companies that I only deal with once a year, for annual invoice for service at my home. And low and behold, there, starring back at me was my dead name. Oh my….that was not good, not good at all. I know, it seems like a minor thing, and in reality, intellectually, it is. But emotionally?? Not so much. It was a bit of a kick to the gut. So, two more things added to my list to change which can be easily dealt with when I submit payment. But still, the last thing I need is two more things. Like I said, lots of moving parts, more is not a good thing.

The next thing I have to deal with is the biggie. Birth Certificate. Now, that is a piece of identification that you really don’t use on a daily basis, or at anytime to be honest. Except for two things in my world, passport and Social Insurance Number. In order to get my name and gender changed on those, I have to change my hame and gender on my birth certificate. Now, in Canada, that is provincial jurisdiction, so rules vary from one province to another. And because I don’t live in the province I was born things are a bit more complicated. So, this is going to be interesting. I am told the process will take 4 months….4 MONTHS. So that means that I can’t apply for a new passport until at least 4 months from now. So trips/travel outside of Canada for me in a “no-go”for a bit. Which really sucks. Because I hate…H.A.T.E winter (more on that in another post). And I usually go somewhere warm for a bit, just to thaw out. But alas, I better get used to the cold. Brrrr!!

More on all of this to come as I work on those issues.

What’s in a name? A lot of pain if not the correct one. Sigh….Like I said, this is not a journey for the feint of heart.

Leave a Reply

