…and what a year it was!! I must say, I have never, ever been tested like this at any other time in my life. It some ways, 2016 can’t end fast enough! On the other hand, I was fortunate enough to witness an awakening into my authentic life, that to me, is nothing short of miraculous!! On the negative side of the ledger, I required emergency open heart surgery which literally saved my life. Followed by the passing of my faithful canine companion of 15 years, Abby, my yellow lab. Followed immediately by my car crapping out on me which necessitated the purchase of a new car, which I hadn’t prepared for. Tack onto that, I was separated and divorced from my partner of 32 years, who is an amazing woman, but couldn’t cope with my transition, which I fully get and fault her not. So, a very interesting hand I was dealt, which would try the best of us!!

What got me through all that? Well, that would be the other side of the ledger….the positive. I transitioned to my authentic self. That was also, very literally, life saving and so overwhelmed the negatives listed earlier!! I have never been happier….more confident and content. I am very proud of who I have become and blessed with amazing children, family, friends, neighbours, co-workers and community in general! All of whom are unconditionally supportive, and I am so thankful.

So, looking forward to an amazing 2017, spending time with people dear to me, making new friends, and new memories and living every day in the riches that are my life.

If I can do it, anyone can, so if anyone is in despair….things will get better, if you work for it and allow it. Your life doesn’t come with a remote control, if you want to change it, you have to get up and do it yourself. In the famous words of Nike…”just do it!”. And if you need a laugh to get you through, stop back in and join me as I stumble along my journey, as I share both the good and the bad. All the best for an awesome 2017!!

Leave a Reply

